Wi-Fi 6 the next-generation wireless standard

Wednesday 31st October 2018

Wi-Fi 6 the next-generation wireless standard

More than just speed, it will provide better performance, from stadiums to your own home.


Wi-Fi Has Version Numbers Now

Wi-Fi Alliance visuals for device manufacturers.

Here are the versions of Wi-Fi you’ll  be seeing:

  • Wi-Fi 1 would have been 802.11b, released in 1999.
  • Wi-Fi 2 would have been 802.11a, also released in 1999.
  • Wi-Fi 3 would have been 802.11g, released in 2003.

Older versions of Wi-Fi aren’t widely in use and aren’t officially being branded.

  • Wi-Fi 4 is 802.11n, released in 2009.
  • Wi-Fi 5 is 802.11ac, released in 2014.
  • Wi-Fi 6 is the new version, also known as 802.11ax. It’s scheduled for release in 2019.

The Wi-Fi Alliance also announced would like to see these numbers appear in software so you can tell which Wi-Fi network is newer and faster when connecting on your devices. You may be seeing Wi-Fi numbers on your phone, tablet, or laptop soon.

The latest Wi-Fi standard will offer faster data transfer speeds. If you’re using a Wi-Fi router/AP with a single device, maximum potential speeds should be up to 40% higher with Wi-Fi 6 compared to Wi-Fi 5.

Key points of the new Wi-Fi 6

  • Faster
  • Longer Battery Life
  • Better Performance in Crowded Areas.

Look out for “Wi-Fi 6” and “Wi-Fi 6 Certified”

When it comes to buying a new device, you won’t have to look up the spec sheet and try remembering whether 802.11ac or 802.11ax is the latest standard. The device manufacturer should say it has “Wi-Fi 6” or “Wi-Fi 5.”

You will also start seeing a “Wi-Fi 6 Certified” logo on devices that have gone through the Wi-Fi Alliance’s certification process. Previously, there was a “Wi-Fi Certified” logo but that didn’t tell you what generation Wi-Fi that product was from unless you looked at the specifications.